Registration is quick and easy 

Any lawyers in the building?

Pete

Copyright and intellectual property to be exact.

In a nutshell I'm a web and graphic designer, I was made redundant from my permanent job just over 4 weeks ago. My work is very visual and I rely on a portfolio to get my next job. After being made redundant I created an online portfolio and exhibited some of the work that I'd worked on in my previous employment.

Subsequently my previous employer contacted me (last Monday) and told me (really quite aggressively) to take the work down and confirm that I had deleted any copies, etc. within 48hrs. Not being sure of my legal position and not wanting to get on the wrong side of the law I quickly took the work down and confirmed that I had done so. The following day my previous employer emailed me to confirm that I had deleted everything in my possession. I responded by saying that I was seeking legal advice on their requests (obviously not knowing my legal position I wanted to know what my rights were before "signing" for anything).

On Friday last week I'd found out that I have pretty much no rights whatsoever to the work and was going to email to confirm the deletion when I got back home from being away for a few days. Before I had chance to do that though I received a letter from my previous employer's legal representatives making 8 demands, including that I must pay £500 as a contribution towards my previous employers legal costs.

I then contacted my previous employer to confirm that everything had been deleted and trusted that that would be an end to the matter. I also emailed the legal representatives explaining my shock and surprise that the matter had got to the stage that it has. By "I will be seeking legal advice" I meant I would be visiting the Citizen's Advice Bureau to find out my legal position, not that I would be looking to take the matter further.