Dealers never do the correct (Owner's Manual) Service?

Guest darren_uk

I'm new to biking; 2 years now and just exchanged for my second bike. Putting me into context, I'm a guy in his 40s.

I've only ever used the same dealer - a "premier exclusive Yamaha" dealer.

As I'm new, I go through the Owner's Manuals.

I've noticed that what it says in the "Periodic Maintenance" section which explains what to do at 10000km / 20000km / 30000km / 40000km / annually doesn't fully get done even by the authorised workshops.

In fact, a dealer service appears to be: change the oil, change the oil filter. And that's it.

It seems there is a difference between what the manufacturers (e.g. Yamaha) says must be done to keep your bike in tip top condition, and what the Yamaha Dealer's Yamaha trained staff in the workshop says must be done.

As an example: brakes which I guess would be a legal requirement to be maintained in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions:

- The book says brake hoses replaced every 4 years: I have no note to say this has been done on my 6 year old bike.

- The book says replace brake fluid ever 2 years: I bought my first bike at 1 year old and kept it until 3 years old, and diligently (i.e. had the money) had it "properly" serviced; all that was done was oil and filter. Not even the brake fluid was replaced.

I'm further concerned that when I come to buy a future bike and the dealer says, "Full dealer service history" in fact, it won't be. Yes it'll have had an oil change and an oil filter change every year, but beyond that nothing more (unless remediation work) will have been done.

And this is what the dealer network is saying countrywide (based on past service invoices I check): We will not give the bike the correct service in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions.