Improving headlamp

m312

Hi

I have done a few trips in the dark on unlit country roads recently, and it's not a happy experience due to the poor brightness of the headlamp even on main beam. It passed it's MOT recently so I know it's lined up correctly. The beam doesn't exactly light up the road, and I found myself doing about 30 in a 60 zone, just because I couldn't see far enough ahead for corners etc. Being a single headlamp I guess there's not much scope to improve this except maybe for a brighter lamp.....

Anyway, does anyone have any ideas? I have wondered about upgrading to Xenon, or fitting extra lamps, etc etc. I'm a novice at bike wiring but willing to give it a go.

I put the HID for the dipped beam and as long as it's set on the lower side of adjustment it'll be fine, I can say that I've had no flashing to signal that I'm dazzling everyone coming the other way. I've kept the normal bulb for high beam and if you play with it you can get the adjustment so you can see.

John

These look like there worth a try.The beauty of these lights is that there on in an instant, variable brightness and draw little current so loading up of the bikes electric's.

As Stu say HID's requires a special lamp holder - reflector or they dazzle and become illegal

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Cree-Motorcycle ... cle+lights

These look like there worth a try.The beauty of these lights is that there on in an instant, variable brightness and draw little current so loading up of the bikes electric's.

As Stu say HID's requires a special lamp holder - reflector or they dazzle and become illegal

that plus they need to be self leveling, which isn't possible on a bike :(

Look good,but as the info says "Not DOT approved. For off road use only." Hmmm :?