First set of gear?

Guest aytri

Hi all,

I've just bought a bike and done my CBT. I'm going to start commuting into work next week (15 miles each way), which gives me a week or so to get some gear. At the moment I have nothing at all except some old mountain biking gloves and a pair of Dr. Martens - which isn't going to cut it :lol:

I'm still a complete newbie, so can someone help me decide what I need please? I am planning on buying a helmet, a jacket, some trousers (or maybe some Kevlar jeans), some gloves, and maybe some boots. I'm also considering fitting heated grips.

If you had up to, say, £1,000 to spend on a set of gear, what would you buy? I'm too old for worrying about looking cool :crybaby: - I just want a good quality set of gear that will keep me warm, dry, comfortable and safe. I'd also prefer to buy gear that I can wear all year round if possible.

Also, if anyone has any interesting links to "what gear to buy"-type pages I'd appreciate it.

Thanks,

aytri

Can I just recover form the fact you'd spent £1000 on your first set of gear for a moment.

Right.. composed..

Firstly I'd say that if you're really willing to spend that much then I'd buy multiple sets of gear rather than go all out on one set, once a jacket and trousers is soaking wet then are you really going to want to put damp gear on (yes i'm aware they'll be waterproof, still not pleasant).

I'd say get everything head to toe.. helmet, jacket, trousers, boots, gloves without fail.. anything less than protective gear won't cut it for safety.

I've window shopped online and found I could get a full set of gear for less than £200.. when I got mine from J&S it cost me £340-360 (bad memory) for a full set of FT textiles, boots, helmet and gloves (shop prices are always dear).

What you get is up to you but make sure it's waterproof at the very least and has comfortable padding (don't be afraid to try it on in the shop and test how solid the armour is).

Trying on in shop > internet (always).