Hazzard Perception: Training to use software

Guest Eanx

I'm going to have a rant! I'm studying for my theory and hazard perception tests. Theory I have no problem with. In fact, I don't have a problem with hazard perception either - in the real world. I've been driving for 20 years and never had an accident. I've been practising with this software http://www.amazon.co.uk/Complete-Motorc ... ete+theory and on the whole it's pretty good. There are a number of example mock videos to practice with but I find the test pedantic. I can't help but feel that to pass this test you don't have to identify developing hazards but simply understand what the software expects from you.

One example; in one clip, you turn a corner and I identified that a car was parked on another bend far down the road so I clicked. Of course this is a hazard because you can't see what is coming around the corner and you're going to have to overtake it. So at this far distance I'm aware this poses a potential hazard. Great! Isn't that what it's about? This is actually the hazard they want you to spot, but not too early! OK, so perhaps a car appearing parked on a bend isn't considered a "developing hazard". If I clicked when I was close but before a car comes around the bend, I got points. Why not when I first saw it? Another problem with these videos is that there are numerous hazards. Kids running along the pavement, a car pulling towards the junction on your right, a bus parked at a bus stop down the road that may pull out... I also did the test on the Cam rider website and did pretty poorly. What am I missing? Any tips? Out of the theory, Mod1 and Mod 2, it's this that's worrying me.

I can't help but feel that to pass this test you don't have to identify developing hazards but simply understand what the software expects from you.

The above quote answers your own question in regards to why you're appear to be doing so badly.