Motorbike test question.

Hi everyone, I have module 1 coming up next week. It's my first attempt at it and I have been doing it perfectly on the direct access course.

Then as you know it's on to module 2 and the one thing I am worried about is safety checks.

When following my instructor he is looking all the time and to be honest it just confused me. Don't get me wrong I know looks are important but I am just really confused when to do them, I have been riding for 3 years on my 125 and I do a lot of checks but not nearly as much that are being done when on the lesson.

Any tips would be handy as this is what I'm most worried about, also when to do checks in module 1?

Hi. On the mod 1 you need to do checks before moving off every time. The examinor will be watching for these from the moment you get hold of the bike to push it into the compound until you get off the bike at the end.

How far along with the training are you. I would sit down with your instructor and ask if you are unsure of anything. He/she will be more than happy to explain your lifesavers. My instructor would scream at me anytime I forgot a lifesaver, you soon remember to do them then.

All the best

Thanks for the reply! Test is next week. Do I have to look before I get on the bike are just when I'm moving off? Also when I'm dismounting the bike?

It's all quite confusing, I find my self looking stupid and having my head turn every shape.

I was told just before moving off including the pushing manoeuvres at the start. On the U-turn you need to do shoulder checks before moving off. Start moving then do a lifesaver then keep moving forward and then do your u-turn.

Observe, Observe, Observe!

Park your bike facing the test pad when you arrive at the centre and locate the motorbike parking (makes it easier on yourself).

Do a lifesaver over both your left and right shoulder before attempting each part of the test, including taking your bike form the parking space to the test pad.