A newbie with a dilemma!

Guest Mully79

Hi, I'm Louise and I'm a newbie to all this biking lark! :D I'm a bit old to be a newbie I think, at 28... but I was forbidden from riding a bike when I was a teenager by my over-protective Dad (he's an ex-biker), and ended up driving a car for 10 years...

I've had a 49cc Peugeot Speedfight 2 for 3 months now and I absolutely love it, I don't know why I didn't get a bike/moped sooner. I've booked it in to be de-restricted this week, but have suddenly realised a problem:

I'm on a full car licence, have taken my CBT and I wanted to go for an A1 Motorcycle test. Problem is, if I de-restrict my bike, it's no longer a Moped class, but I can't use it for an A1 test either as it's less than 75cc (for an A1 it has to be between 75 and 125cc).

So what do I do? I don't want to get a Moped licence, I want the A1 for now. Are there any modifications I can have done to push the cc up to 75? :? Or does anyone have any recommendations for bikes 75-125cc? I assume if I can't modify it I'll have to trade it in for another model. :cry:

Incidentally, as it's an automatic, how difficult is it to adjust to using a manual? - edited to say, I mean if I got a bike with clutch & gears, how would it compare to riding an automatic, as I'm doing now? Easy to adapt to?

All these questions, sorry...! :oops:

Edited by Anonymous

Hi, I'm Louise and I'm a newbie to all this biking lark! :D I'm a bit old to be a newbie I think, at 28... but I was forbidden from riding a bike when I was a teenager by my over-protective Dad (he's an ex-biker), and ended up driving a car for 10 years...

I've had a 49cc Peugeot Speedfight 2 for 3 months now and I absolutely love it, I don't know why I didn't get a bike/moped sooner. I've booked it in to be de-restricted this week, but have suddenly realised a problem: