YBR 125 stutters as if about to stall when pulling away + engine rattling when accelerating

Yamaheart

Hi, just wondering if anyone could offer any advice for some problems I’m having on my bike,

I bought it about eight months ago, it’s a 2010 YBR 125cc (Custom but I believe mechanically it’s the same as the YBR)

Couple issues:

1 - When I try to pull away in first gear the engine stutters as if its about to stall out, but then it recovers. It’s hard to describe, but it’s easily noticed if you get on it and ride it. This only seems to happen after the bike has warmed up after a few mins and it doesn’t seem to happen if I pull away going downhill, which isn’t very often. Makes riding in town awful.

I have been riding for quite a few months and don’t think it's my technique, because no matter how much throttle I give, or how slowly I feed out the clutch lever it still seems to do it. My theory is that’s it’s the clutch, but I don’t know. Someone told me they have the same problem on their 2015 YBR and it’s still there after replacing all clutch plates, springs, clutch cable, and oil

2 - Weird clicking/rattling noises, coming from the engine I think and it only happens when I am accelerating. It’s just like a constant clicking. It seems to be louder in the higher gears.

Thanks very much in advance.

Weeelll...

1. I did notice when I was riding my wife's YBR125 (to the MOT, which it failed!) that the chain was a bit slack; I noticed this because the power delivery feels bit 'wrong' - while the chain is flapping around getting tensioned up after you pull away. This is kind of like a juddering. I'm pretty sure it will go away when the chain next gets tightened up.

So if you haven't checked it already, I would suggest you check the chain tension (and give it a clean and lube while you are there).