Information

Hi guys my name Is Moh

Just a little background about myself before I ask my questions.

I'm 27 years old I live in Birmingham been driving a car for about 6 years and I have always had a passion for biking.

My new job is in Derby about 40 miles away. So 80 miles commute a day. I brought a little run around for work to stack the mileage on however it's still costing me roughly around £160 a month just getting to and from work. I'm currently a trainee Engineer so my annual salary isnt so much atm and someone at work I was having a conversation with told me he has a 125 and how it costs him a few quid to tank up his motorcycle cheap tax £17 year and cheap insurance which got me thinking that maybe it could be time to pursue biking.

I'm quite tall I'm 6"3 aboht 95kg. I'm a little confused on how I'd need to transfer my car license to a bike license. I know a cbt is compulsory and that woukd restrict me to a 125cc but would a little bike be reliable to a long commute on fast dual carriageways and rounabdouts 80 miles a day. If not than what would I need to do aftwr completing my CBT to step up to a bigger bike?

Any information would be useful to me and thank you for your time

Moh

Welcome. You can commute just fine on a 125 but they do take a while to get to 70 (like, 20 seconds), which you may find frustrating after a while. But 125s get you like 100mpg so they're insanely cheap to run. For a 125 you need a 1 day cbt at £100 or so.

For a bigger bike you then need to do a DAS which is usually a 5 day course at maybe £650 or so, with 2 tests at the end after which you can ride any size bike. But big bikes don't get such good mpg - mine does 40 so the same as the car.

As Geof says big bikes are not brilliant on fuel, but if you pass the DAS for an un restricted license then you could go for a 250. Better for dual carriageways and still reasonable fuel consumption.