Advice on getting bike ready for winter

Breadsnapper

I am new to biking so forgive my ignorance. I am slowly learning how to maintain my bike and already thinking about winter. Question is what is the best thing to use to protect the electrics for winter. I was thinking of using an electrical grease on the connectors etc. Would this be ok or is there something more specific to protect the electrics?

Cheers in advance Dave

If you are laying it up you need to give it a thorough wash, make sure it is totally dry, then spray ACF-50 over all the mechanical and electrical bits. Make sure you don't get it on the brakes or the seat. Also put on centre stand to get tyres off the floor.

If, on the other hand you are going to use it all winter, as many of us do, the above treatment will do a good job of keeping salt at bay.

There are several videos on YouTube about washing and spraying bike. The Missenden Flyer has a couple of good ones.

My bike lives outside.. and my preparation for winter is to wash it... allow it to dry, give it a quick spray over with ACF and then cover it.

and thats all.

Bikes aren't that fragile. and standing for say... 4 months will do it no harm whatsoever. Dont think that starting it every now and then.. warming up the engine is a good thing - it isn't. leave it alone.

I know some people take steps like filling the fuel tank and adding stabiliser.. or doing other things like raising the bike off the ground. but in my experience, you dont need to do any of that either... just wash and dry it.. give it a spray of ACF then park it up. cover it and forget about it. maybe plug it into a battery minder.. to keep the battery charged up. or be ready to charge the battery when you put it back on the road.. especially if it has an alarm that might be a slow drain. My bike doesn't have an alarm.. so all I do is charge it up when the bike is parked up.. and then at the end of the winter.. charge it up again. and thats it.