New bike won't start?

Octo1313

Hi all,

Recieved my new 125cc zontes bike today. I'm a complete novice, only just done my CBT so I apologise in advance if my problem is just down to my own stupidity.

It was working perfectly fine when it came, tested this morning by the garage and the delivery driver showed me it working before handing it over.

Just went to sit on it and it will not start. You go to start it and it just revs, chokes and makes a fast ticking sound.

I can only describe it as sounding like a car with no battery, however the bike is 1 day old?! Surely it's not a bike problem but something I'm doing wrong.

Thank you in advance.

Is the side stand down? My bike has a kill switch on the side stand?

Failing that is there an engine cut out switch on the handle bars?

I have both and have been caught out by both :-)

Here we go again , it's not your problem to solve . You have been sold a consumer product and it does not work . Ask the vendor to collect the faulty purchase and exchange it for one that is fit for purpose. Act quickly before you fall into the all too common trap of believing that it's YOUR bike and that YOU have a responsibility to fix it . A fridge, a lawnmower, a motorbike, a felt tip pen , your consumer rights are exactly the same. Welcome to the forum.

Sounds like either they didn’t fully charge the battery or something has drained it. The fast ticking is the solenoid bouncing in and out as the starter is engaged and the battery voltage collapses.

Call the dealer and get them to collect it and check it out.

As mentioned give manual a quick skim first for starting procedure as some need clutch in all the time, others only if not in neutral. Some won't start with side stand down etc... If you're doing everything right then get on phone to dealer straight away.