Advice on first bike

Highlander

Hi folks, I have just started my training in the last couple weeks and looking for some advice on buying a used bike.

The place I'm learning at uses Kawasaki ER6N's to teach on which are nice enough bikes but I prefer the cruiser types rather than the racing looking types. Being a total beginner I'm looking for some advice on what to go for for a first bike.

Being the festive period and starting a new job in January I think it will take a couple months+ maybe till i get through my training and sit my tests, I'm also going to see if there's an advanced course afterwards.

I was considering buying a new bike after i pass - but that's probably a daft idea. I had one or two little bumps /scrapes with my first car which I'm glad wasn't new. I was thinking it might be better to save my cash till i pass for a deposit on a new bike, but I have been looking at couple used bikes 125cc ones that I could use for a few months till I pass my test and get some experience riding before going for a new /or better used one. I found a 250 cc honda shadow but its above the legal limit sadly was cheap and decent looking condition for about £700.

I'm thinking of buying a 125cc bike to ride about on for a few months till I pass and get some experience etc I live about 20 drive away from work which I doesn't have any motorways so I was thinking of maybe driving to work and about town to get some practice in. I have been looking at some cruiser type bikes in the 125 cc range - finding reviews for older bikes can be a pain so any advice is appreciated.

I have found this one that seems to get decent reviews and I quite like the look of it

https://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/201812113184198?advertising-location=at_bikes&make=HONDA&model=VT125%20SHADOW&sort=price-asc&postcode=ky26lf&radius=1501&page=1