ABS or no ABS

RAYK47

Looking at street triples at the moment, in preparation for passing my test (however long that may take). However the ABS models are pretty scarce pre 2013, this led me to consider a non ABS model. Costs of a decent triple in that age is about £4.5k.

Now I get that I am a noob and my current bike does not have ABS but it is only a 125 so probably not really needed. But is it worth considering a non ABS model or should it be the first thing a noob like me looks for?

What are people's thoughts on ABS? Good bad experiences, times it saved or hindered you etc. Anything specific that is useful to know.

ABS adds value to a bike. When you come to sell it.

ABS does nothing in normal circumstances. It only has to save you once to pay for itself. It can turn an "Oh my god!!!" Moment into nothing at all... A non event. It can help a lot in normal riding, in the wet and on particularly dodgy surfaces. Like at junctions, white lines, over banding, salt/grit piled up in winter. And so on.

Is it worth having? Definitely. You don't really want to be making a claim so early in your riding career due to getting braking wrong, which is easily done especially in a panic. Or with inexperience on a new bike.

You've just entered the world of big bikes, while you are always learning and improving your riding I think the first year is the most crucial.

Get the ABS. Spend that extra coin for your safety, or the very least peace of mind.

There's a reason training schools use ABS bikes only for MOD 1 these days....

Difficult one, this.... back in the dim and distant, no bikes had ABS, but we all (well mostly) managed to survive.