Good evening all,

First of all thanks for the welcome into my first steps of biking and hopefully not being too rude in asking an immediate question! (ADMIN, should I add this to training section?)

Looking for a DAS course over either 5 or 7 days to obtain my full motorcycle licence, finding it difficult at the moment.  My background is as follows;

50yo (ok, been told midlife crisis already).

NO motorbike experience.

33yrs full car licence holder.

Institute of Advanced Motorists member.  Already purchased Motorcycle Roadcraft book to go alongside my well worn Roadcraft car copy.

Sat and passed DVSA motorcycle theory test this week.

Live in Glasgow area but willing to travel for the training and take time off work.

Plan to purchase a bike around 850cc once qualified. 

Thanks in advance,

Scott.

• Like 2

You'll be fine, although if you try and execute some principles of Roadcraft on your test the examiner may actually give you some faults! The DVSA like a simple middle of the road position for your test.

I'm guessing you don't have a training school booked yet? They're likely to be busy at the mo so get enquiring. But the type of course you're looking for is more than suitable.

I'm not sure if any active members here are out your way for recommendations, if not the dreaded Facebook usually has some local groups

• Like 2

One thing I will say is that as you are an experienced driver you’ll notice that until you get the muscle memory and coordination on the bike your hazard perception may decrease a bit as your concentration will be back to yourself and the bike. 

I did my DAS back in 2006 at the age of 36. I was a driving instructor at the time and for a short time I noticed I was missing things while riding around town and not reading the road as well as in a car. 
I eventually worked out what was going on. All my attention was directed towards controlling the bike.