First road trip on a 125cc (Buttertubs, Honister Pass)

Bludoggo

Hey all!

Well I've been commuting for a good few months now with no falls or serious issues (woohoo!) and as the weather is almost getting lovely I was thinking about my first little road trip. I'm based around Leeds so was thinking of going north through Buttertubs and then onto Honsiter Pass as I've heard nothing but good things about these places. I have a week off in a little while and I was thinking of breaking up the ride with a few stop overs so I don't rush through it all. 

As a COMPLETE beginner, is this a good idea on a 125cc? has anyone done this before? Any tips or things I should be thinking about?

Ta!

1 hour ago, Bludoggo said:

Hey all!

Well I've been commuting for a good few months now with no falls or serious issues (woohoo!) and as the weather is almost getting lovely I was thinking about my first little road trip. I'm based around Leeds so was thinking of going north through Buttertubs and then onto Honsiter Pass as I've heard nothing but good things about these places. I have a week off in a little while and I was thinking of breaking up the ride with a few stop overs so I don't rush through it all. 

As a COMPLETE beginner, is this a good idea on a 125cc? has anyone done this before? Any tips or things I should be thinking about?

Ta!

That’s eminently do-able on a 125. You may want to think about other places to visit / pass through while you’re riding that way. For example, you could ride more of the passes in the Lakes, and/or explore some of the N. Pennines while you’re in the area. Just don’t over-schedule your time and be prepared to stop when tired.

• Like 1

The world's your oyster really.

If you're trying to gain experience etc, then maybe head to York on the A64. 

Off past the outlet and take the brid road.

From there either do the coast or the east york wolds?

Or go over the tops to whitby?

• Like 1