Difficulty of choice. Please, give your advice.

Retupeksu

Hi!

I'm a brand new to bikes and I'm looking to buy my first bike.

I have three options that I just cannot choose from... I've been at it for a couple of months now.

1. KTM 640 LC4 Supermoto.

I love supermotos. Absolutely amazing looking bikes and I drove 125cc supermoto back in the day. KTM 640 LC4 is a stranger to me and that's why I'm asking for advice/opinions about the bike.

2. Kawasaki ER-6N

I have no experience with naked bikes or Kawasaki brand.

3. Yamaha FZ6-N

Same as above with Kawasaki.

I drive mostly paved small roads and highways. Occasionally well maintained dirt roads.

I would like to hear any experiences, tips, rumours or whatever you can think of about these three bikes. I truly appreciate any advice.

Thank you in advance!

I’ve been riding for 40 plus years, I observe riders at the weekend working towards a higher qualification in riding and I’ve had my fair share of bikes over the years. 
1: KTM they look good and probably ride well however they are well known for electrical problems and do break down. 
2: Yamaha I haven’t ridden a Yamaha for many years, again new from the showroom or a low mileage 2nd hand purchase they breakdown, it depends on how much inconvenience your prepared to put up with. 
3: Kawasaki other riders may have different opinions, I’ve ridden many a Kawasaki and never had any issues with the brand. 
I own 3 x Honda & 3 x BMW all less than 2 years old, I keep them serviced and looked after, washed, dried & wiped down with ACF50 after every ride. You look after any bike and it will look after you! 

The KTM is getting on a bit now. They are great bikes, but in a high state of tune. They need very regular maintenance to keep them in top condition.

It's probably worth budgeting for an engine rebuild in future with the purchase price.

• Like 1