Hello all

Bonut

Hi, I have just joined the forum and am hoping to gain some useful knowledge about motorbikes and carrying out basic maintenance on them.

I have been riding for circa 2 years and really enjoy being out on the bike. I would like to learn more regarding the general upkeep of my bike as I haven't done much maintenance on it, but it's about time that I did. When I got it, it had been fully maintained by the previous owner so I didn't need to do anything to start with. I did some maintenance on my previous bike, a 125cc, such as change front and rear sprockets and chain, but as soon as I passed my full licence I sold the 125 and bought my MT-03.

As said, not much has needed doing to it during the first year. I keep an oil on fluids, check chain tension, and it went through last years MOT without any issues. I did adjust the clutch cable slightly last summer and oiled the inner cable, but that's about it.

The bike has been in the garage for a while; I hadn't ridden it since before Christmas. I have started it and let it run for 10 minutes to make sure it didn't go flat.

I was on it for the first time this year at the weekend. When I started it up and dropped into first, the bike instantly stalled, which it did for a few times. I did a quick google and came to the conclusion that the clutch plates had stuck together due to standing unused for a while. I rocked it back and forth for a bit whilst in first which seemed to do the trick, as I started it up again and could get into first without stalling. I then took it for a quick spin around my local area (3-4 miles) and it seemed ok. I then went out in the afternoon for a longer ride, when I noticed that the bike would stall fairly often when coming to a stop; not every time but fairly often to become annoying.