Losing power

Guest MNO

Mega frustrated, had my proper ride on my RS today and it was great, I took it easy and tried to run it in a bit as it's been sat for 2 months, had some problems at first with it dying and losing power, but kept the revs up and it was fine.

Just went to fill up with petrol and it died 3 times, twice at roundabouts.

It'll go fine, but when I slow down to below like 30mph it'll lose power, try to throttle it a bit and it gives nothing, drop a gear trying to keep it going, and then itll just slowly die.

Once it dies, it refuses to start for a while, but eventually I managed to get it going with a bit of choke+throttle combined, get it into first and off I go again.

But it keeps dying when I slow down, as I'm new to bikes I thought hmm.. maybe I'm in too high a gear for the speed, so I tried dropping a gear sooner, but it does the same as soon as i slow down.

All I can think of is that its not getting the fuel injection or its just getting blocked, or maybe the spark plug?

Also sometimes when I stop it refuses to go into neutral, like won't shift into any gear ?

Any help is appreciated with my very limited mechanical mind.

It ticks over fine usually, no problems, but once it cuts out, it takes a while to get it going again, and once I finally get it started and give it a few revs, it ticks over fine.

I never got to the station, the bike was running on almost nothing so I filled it up with a few litres from a fuel-can thing that I filled up at the petrol station before my CBT about a week ago.

There's a fair amount in there now though, I was only going to the petrol station for an excuse to slip away on the bike and to fill up the tank.

I havent changed the filter no

surely if the cylinder had blown it wouldnt start?

I've just taken the air filter out and had a look, seems pretty clean minus some oil at the bottom, but doesn't seem a substantial enough amount to be sucked in to cause a block when slowing.