Heated grips wiring not working with relay

Casparv

Hi Everyone,

I am no electrician in any way shape or form, but I tried wiring my heated grips via a relay. I have followed all steps accordingly, but for some reason I get the following issue:

• When I wire the heated grips directly to the battery, the grips instantly turn on when I put it into mode 4. Everything works as it should.
  • When I wire the heated grips via a relay, I can see that at the point where my cable from the relay meets the cable of the heated grip the voltage going through the cable drastically decreased depending on the heated option I select (1 to 4). When I select 4 my multimeter measures a very low voltage and the heated grips do not turn on. When I wire the grips again directly to the battery, this same point measures full voltage when I have selected 4 on the heated grips. My accessory does not work on any level, but I see the output off voltage in the cable connected to the accessory drop depending on the level I select.

My wiring is done as followed:

30 Wired to the battery (will add a fuse in between after but want it to work first)
87 Wired to the heated grips

85 Wired to a spliced cable coming from the heated grips going into the minus of the battery

86 Wired to one of the fuse intakes on my bike that gives power at ignition.

The weird part is that the relay seems to work fine, since I hear a click when the switch is triggered. It also gives the same power when idle, but when the accessory is used I have a loss of power and the accessory does not turn.

I thought it might have to do with how I wired the switch, I am not certain if you need to wire it into the negative or positive side of the fuse, I just wired it into an available side of the fuse (could very likely be a negative) is that maybe the issue?

Does anyone know what the issue is here and how I can solve it?

Edited by Casparv

30 fused from bat positive 87 to heated grips live feed.

This feeds grips