Experiences of the new test?

Apparently the new test has now definitely come in (27th April I think).

I have my A2 licence and I am now the proud owner of a restricted SV650 ... I might want to do the A-test before my two years are up (if I can be bothered/able to afford it!).

So, it would be good to hear from anyone who has done the new test ... what is it like?

I very much doubt I will actually do the A-test because I am lazy and I'll probably end up waiting for my 33bhp to come off anyway after the 2 years (1 month done, 23 to go ... !), but it would be interesting to hear first-hand experiences of the long-awaited new test.

I always thought that part of the test was crazy, I was very relieved when I passed my test and knew I wouldn't be doing the new one! If I'd failed I would have been doing the new one.

I think that swerve should be taken out; I've been riding pretty much every day for several months and I've only just recently got the hang of flicking the bike at speed between tight, opposing corners! I pity anyone trying to do it after only a few days of riding, which is what most of the CBT + test courses seem to be.

I think that swerve should be taken out; I've been riding pretty much every day for several months and I've only just recently got the hang of flicking the bike at speed between tight, opposing corners! I pity anyone trying to do it after only a few days of riding, which is what most of the CBT + test courses seem to be.

I think that if you are to be allowed to ride a 'big' bike, hazard avoidance is a necessary skill. If that means having to do more training and learning to ride better then surely that can not be a bad thing?

Unlike many I actually think this new test is a good idea (except for the ridiculous cost and having to ride/drive miles to one of these supercenters) in that it will hopefully better prepare new riders for the road.