Back brake pedal not springing up after use

Korona45

Hi, does anyone know of anything I can check to try remedy this before I have to take a trip to the local garage?

Its a drum brake on the rear that I'm having the issue with

when I push down on the rear brake pedal, the brake works fine and everything is as it should be... but when I take my foot off the brake, it doesn't spring back up again and the brake stays on until i put my foot underneath the pedal and flick it back up.

I've tried turning the bolt around a few times in each direction on the rod thing that seems to be attached to it (Yes i have no knowledge of bikes) :) but it seemed to do no good, cant seem to see anything else obvious to mess around with to see if its connected to the brake or not :P

Thanks for any replies, mocking my ignorance or otherwise :)

I've tried turning the bolt around a few times in each direction on the rod thing that seems to be attached to it (Yes i have no knowledge of bikes) :) but it seemed to do no good, cant seem to see anything else obvious to mess around with to see if its connected to the brake or not :P

well if its anything like mine, thats the thing that makes it spring back. Is there a spring by the rod?

It should look vaguely similar to this

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/0/0f/W800_drum_brake.jpg/800px-W800_drum_brake.jpg

You should just tighten the bolt/rod (bottom left of the pic) up and it should spring back up again. It may take quite a bit of screwing up though as a single turn doesnt do much

Has it happened suddenly or over time?

And is the spring still... springy? lol (there must be a more technical term for "springy", but you know what I mean)