Tyre inspection and advice

Robik

Hi all,

I just did a tyre inspection on my tyres and noticed an ingress of what looks like a stone into my rear tyre (see photo uploaded https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/472 ... C03829.JPG). I pumped up the tyres about 5 days ago and checked it again today and it seems to drop about 5 PSI, I guess this is what is probably causing the air leakage. What is your advice please? Stop riding the ride and get the tyre changed? Could it be repaired or would it need replacing?

Edit: Also how much should I expect to pay for a tyre (roughly) and fitting, this is my first time dealing with bike tyres so just wanted to check on the typically costs?

Thanks all

If you don't plan to tide the bike then pull the stone out put some water on the, area and see if it bubbles if not then that's not the problem.

I would ride to a tyre dealer and get them to check it, it maybe a leaky valve.

As for fixing they will advise you on that but certain areas can be where that is I would say yes, but they will know more.

Cost depends on size and the quality of tyre you choose, once again pick something your happy with, at a guess a rear will be 100+ but if you want a different make maybe wise to replace both, some won't mix tyres I don't.

Hope this helps.

Thanks I will try with the soapy water before pulling the stone out?

If you don't plan to tide the bike then pull the stone out put some water on the, area and see if it bubbles if not then that's not the problem.

Sorry Techno, do you mean "ride"? I didn't know if this was some form of advance biker speak :D Also, what do you mean by this? You mean if I plan to ride the bike, then leave it in there?

Thanks again all

I hope I am wrong, but that looks like the head of a flat nail to me.