Yamaha XT125X not starting after new fuel valve fittted.

paulebble

Hi everyone,

im a newbie to the forum. I am trying to help my son sort a problem on his 2012 Yamaha XT125X. 
the fuel valve (electronic) was leaking and after much searching I managed to find a new one. It looks the same as the one that was removed. After I installed the valve the bike will not start. I’ve checked and it looks like there’s no fuel getting through the valve to the carb? Has anyone had this problem before? Or can anyone give me any ideas what to check. I’ve checked the fuse and it is good, on the old valve I tried to blow through both of the tubes coming off it and they don’t allow any air through. But in the new valve I can blow air through both tubes? I tried starting the bike with the tubes from the valve disconnected and no fuel comes through. I can’t install the old one to try this as it leaks from the body of the valve. 
I have attached a pic of the old valve. 
any help or advice is welcomed. 

IMG_7116.jpeg

Is the wiring plug connected fully & can you hear the valve operating when you switch the ignition on?

(And please don't be insulted, but I always go back to basics with techy probs - kill switch? kickstand? battery not gone flat?)

13 minutes ago, Isla said:

Is the wiring plug connected fully & can you hear the valve operating when you switch the ignition on?

(And please don't be insulted, but I always go back to basics with techy probs - kill switch? kickstand? battery not gone flat?)

Hi, 

thanks for the reply. No offence taken. All advice is welcomed.
The plug is fully inserted. The side stand up, in neutral (and pulling clutch lever), kill switch is In correct position and battery fully charged. 
Though I can’t hear the valve operating when I switch the ignition on. I’ll double check again when I get a chance. 

Normally they are a vacuum pressure to let the fuel through.