Is this jacket any good?

Tried on an XXL RST jacket in the shop (I have 48" chest) - fitted OK.

Want to get soemthing quite cheap though.

My helmet is red/white ... nice if it matches but not essential

Want a jacket, mainly for summer/dry riding

Is this one OK?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... 0272677553

If not, what should I look for?

Thanks

Looks good.

Ask the following question...

Where is the CE approved armour located (Probably Elbows and shoulders, but check)

Are you intending to get a back protector? This jacket has a foam one, but that's about as useful as a chocolate teapot.....

If you are going to get a proper one that fits under the jacket, make sure the jacket has enough room to accomodate the protector..

RST make good clothing though... It should be good.

I can ask them where CE armour is - but do I need a back protector.

Here's the situation, I know nothing about this, I'm a newbie

I don't want to spend a lot

This RST one has no back armour, but better make, £70:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... 0247327618

If someone can point me in the right direction it would be appreciated

Thanks guys

No worries mate... I understand you wanting to get your kit cheap but take a look at this...

viewtopic.php?f=32&t=15836

A CE Approved back protector that straps to you can cost as little as £80 - £100... £100 is not much if it keeps you out of a wheelchair (Or worse) after a crash...

I could always get a jacket now, then protector later as they can be separate, right?

Money is an issue as I'm still doing training, just want to be warm/dry when on the road all day. I appreciate that kit will grow, and I'll upgrade etc.

I don't want to compromise safety, but another £100 here and there soon adds up ...

Thanks

I can't make you buy one mate, I am just advising..... It's entirely up to you!! To be honest I have a bit of a passion for these things and see them as important as helmets in some respects... :D :D