Passed but still not driving

Guest sponge

Hi folks,

I'm new to bikes and passed my CBT a week or two ago. I started of on a manual bike but just couldn't get the hang of using a clutch and could have been there all day trying to just get round in a circle. So I switched to a wee moped on the instructor's recommendation since my bike is a C90 and doesn't have a clutch but does have gears. I passed CBT, finding the moped no problems at all to drive. The instructor says I wasn't the best or the worst he's ever seen but I did good enough. Though I think I didn't nail all the off road tests and I done some kinda dumb things on the road. I was only even out on the road an hour and a half.

So I go home and have since been trying to learn to drive my bike. Even though I did learn things from CBT, it seems a bit pointless since I can't get the hang of changing gear. Well I can change gear but I can't get the timing right, I forget what gear I'm in, I forget to come off the accelerator. I feel like I need to do CBT again on my own bike but I can't afford to and couldn't get my bike there. So I want to have somewhere off road to practice but I don't have any way of getting my bike to somewhere suitable. Being on the road stresses me because I know I'm a terrible driver, possibly even dangerous, and it must be winding other drivers up. And I'm stuck being near my home where I know people are watching me. I have my parent's moaning at me to get out and drive it. It's like most of the confidence I had is gone. Hell knows how I'll manage to get used to doing 50.

It's really starting to get to me. All I want to do is drive to work but I can't see that happening soon.

So any tips? Or advise? Or anything?

hi, glad to hear you've passed your CBT

when i first started, i was shocking. on a geared 50cc, and found it difficult to get used the the gears/clutch etc.

dropped it when i tried to pull away in 5th as i forgot to change down to 1st... :roll: