how to learn?

Guest coleman

the question is simple, how to learn?

Aim: Pass full bike test (buy and restrict a suzuki bandit 600)

Time frame: asap

My initial idea was to complete my theory and cbt, and then purchase a 125 (manual) to gain some road sence, this way i could also get used to riding a geard bike as i have never done so before, then move onto my full bike test when i am ready.

I have never driven a car either

any advice would be helpful or your personal experiance.

:) :) :) :)

If your over 21 you can do the DAS and not be restricted, the only difference between the restricted and unrestricted test is the engine size of the bike on test day.

gaining road sense before test is a good idea, during that period you can get your theory test out of the way.

a big advantage of getting a full bike licence is that you can learn on your own, as much or as little as you want, in your own time.

Try not to rush yourself, best of luck :D

well i am only 18

so i will have to get the bike restricted

also once you have passed your cbt, do you also have to pass your theory before you can ride on the road?

You just need your CBT to ride on the road so that's not a problem.

Once you take your theory it is good for 2 years, same as a CBT. Once one runs out you will need to do it again.

If you aren't that bothered about being de-restructed you could do a 1 week course like I have just done (having already done your theory) which will include a CBT, a few days getting used to a 125 and then Mod 1. A week later you can take your Mod 2 and be fully qualified to ride any bike (with restrictions due to age of course). When you are 21 I believe you are automatically de-restricted if you just send in your licence.

I did this but on a 500 from the same position as you since I am over 21. Now I can pass my Mod 2 and ride anything. Spent 4 days on a bike but a good school will get you prepared and confident incredibly quickly.