Learning to maintain and service

JellyBelly12345

Hi guys,

Been reading the forums for a while now (i'm one of those weirdo's that sits in the background and reads on forums and never posts) but I was curious as to how people learn to tinker with their bikes?

I have been riding now for over 6 months on a GSX750 and can do the minor things like changing the engine oil, adjusting chain etc but aside from a haynes manual where do people learn to do the important things? Is it just trial and error?

I'm thinking of buying a cheap 125 to take apart and play around with, seeing what goes where etc, would this be the best way or are there courses for this sort of thing you can go on?

Nothing worse than having a lot of tools and no clue how to use them!

Cheers,

Ollie.

I never even thought to get someone else to work on my bikes. I bought a Honda SS50 in 1975 and a Haynes manual about a week later. Buy some decent tools and give it a go! Loadsa info on here and bike specific forums. Loadsa info on Youtube with demos. and if you are ever stuck or really worried a bout a particular job, PM yer number and I'll talk you through it. Yes, buying a cheapo Jap 125 to strip and rebuild is an excellent way to learn. Don't waste yer time with a cheap Chinese though. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Start small and work up from there, that's what I'm doing.

I have a Haynes manual, and when you do little things like changing oil filter, air filter, etc, you get to have a good look at the bike and see that it's not as complex as you thought. I'm now looking at some of the more challenging things in Haynes and thinking, "yes, I could do that!"

I'm currently in the middle of changing brake lines (a saga in itself, but not for lack of competence on my part, but we won't go into that in this thread - I've devoted a whole other thread to my rantings about that!), and it's not so hard at all!