Open the throttle or keep her steady??

Phooey

Ok guys ... so I am looking for your thoughts.

I have been riding my bike for a couple of months (mostly in the wet) and have been taking it nice and steady, not trying to be a hero just smoothly does it. This past few days what with the weather a little nicer I have been opening the throttle a little more and obviously feeling a bit more confident riding a bit faster.

Now here is my question. I have two mates who ride and one says while riding around town and semi country roads keep the revs higher and drop a gear if I need to, because that will help me to keep control and ultimately feel more confident. The other contradicts this by saying ride in an appropriate gear so as to keep the revs low but not so low the bike struggles and that will keep control and help build confidence.

So which one is right?? At the moment I am keeping revs low, rarely go over 4000 unless on the motorway or dual carriageway. Don't think that I have gone over 6000 yet! :?

I do all the usual, gentle braking, easy throttle, smooth steering, counter steering :booty: , when it is wet so I guess I am really asking about when it is dry and we can enjoy the ride for the rides sake.

No not come off yet, Stu. But I am always looking for tips to improve my riding. Just because I haven't come off yet doesn't necessarily mean I am doing it right ... I could be just lucky.

Thanks for your comment though. :cheers:

do they both ride the same bike as you?

if not then they cant say how to ride yours, or what will work for you.

the amount of throttle/revs needed to give appropriate drive/stability will vary immensely from bike to bike.

perfect example of this...my OH can pootle around at 3k on his vfr, while if I tried that on either the R6 or cbr , it would object bigtime... and I'm more likely to be doing around 8k( 10 if I want it to get a bit lively).