Cold starting issues

Sk93

Ok.. I'm PRETTY sure that this is an overfueling issue... but here goes :)

Firstly, I am by no means a mechanic. I'm ok when it comes to cars , but I've not so much as changed the oil on a bike myself.

I've a '98 ZX-6R which is having a hard time staying running over when the engines cold.

If we're starting from stone cold, I'll give it 3/4 to full choke and hit the button, and it'll come alive.

If its warm out, I'll maybe give a 1/4 choke, or sometimes none and it'll start first time.

But then the problem occurs..

Initially, the revs will hold, but after a few seconds (varies from 2 seconds, to about 30-40, tho this seems to have no relation to engine temp or environment - seems random :/) it'll dwindle right down to around 400rpm before finally dieing completely.

I'll hit the starter button and it'll be straight back alive... and the process repeats.

Now.. To get it actually started, what I have to do is give it oh such a little bit of throttle and hold it there until we get around 2 bars of "heat" registered on the clock.

Then she'll happily stay ticking over till the cows come home.

Whats odd is that if I'm not using any choke to begin with, if I add choke instead of twisting the throttle, it just dies.

Another thing to note is that if I've been out on it for a good ride (say, an hour to matlock or so). I can then leave it for a good three hours and when I start it back up, it just goes.. even if the engine is stonecold.

Finally, there is a distinct pong of fuel from the exhaust when starting from cold.. and then for a good while after too.

Would you say I've just got myself a classic overfueling issue here? Or could I be looking at something more sinister (dodgy piston rings for example?)

If it IS the overfueling issue... what would be the best solution?

A full service from a pro or just new plugs?

:?

didn't quite understand this bit SK