Hints and Tips about commuting in Winter!

Guest SV650s

Hi

I have just returned to biking after a 1 year break. I am planning on getting back into the swing of things this summer and hopefully commuting too and from work on my SV650s.

I want to commute on my bike this winter but i have very little experience riding in poor weather conditions. I can brave the wet but only if i have to.

I was wondering if anyone had any hints or tips on riding in winter conditions so that i can mental prepare and brush up on my skills while the weather is good.

Any advice welcome.

Cheers,

Craig

Hi

I have just returned to biking after a 1 year break. I am planning on getting back into the swing of things this summer and hopefully commuting too and from work on my SV650s.

I want to commute on my bike this winter but i have very little experience riding in poor weather conditions. I can brave the wet but only if i have to.

I was wondering if anyone had any hints or tips on riding in winter conditions so that i can mental prepare and brush up on my skills while the weather is good.

Any advice welcome.

Cheers,

Craig

Phone in sick and watch re runs of GPs/WSBs :lol: :lol: :lol:

ey up craig

commuted all thro last winter..............main things to watch for i found are manhole covers........they're flamin lethal in wet weather......stay off the white lines.......again they become extremely slippery.........standing water...it's like runnin into a brick wall.........get a GOOD set of waterproofs and add some protective coatin to ur boots.......there's nowt worse than wet feet...........get an anti-mist for your visor.........you'll find when it rains or is cold your visor mists up really quickly...........remember that your stoppin distances are a hell of a lot further in wet or icy conditions........just ride carefully an you'll be ok

steve

Ok. First get some heated grips, you will need some :lol: And some good warm water proofs.