Well today was the first time I have ever been in control of a motorised vehicle. My instructor advised I used an automatic but I really wanted to be taught how to use a manual properly rather than work it out by myself on an Aprilia RS (kill myself..)!

Everyone in my group pulled up in a car which already made me feel like a complete noob as I got the bus lol. I was surprised that only myself and two others out of eight people were going for the manual 125 option and not the automatic 50s.

I started off ok, as an experienced cyclist I was quite well balanced when it came to slow riding but from here on it was nothing like cycling. I found that just as I was becoming confident with a task we would briskly moved on. By the time I was just coming to terms with clutch closed, revs on, slowly open clutch, get speed, let go of throttle, front brake, back brake, clutch, get back in gear we were adding in turns, indicating, checking mirrors etc.. I felt like Homer with the new things I learnt pushing out the old ones.

By the end of the car park practical I had got the hang of it but had random inconsistencies, not pulling the clutch in time at a stop, breaking too sharply, breaking at a slight angle, stepping down with my right foot.

I found that once I started saying things pretty much out loud it became much easier to operate the bike. My instructor said I need to come back for 1 hours riding and then a 2 hour road ride to complete the course.

Any advice for my next session as I really can't afford to pay for more lessons after this!

Cheers

Everyone learns at a different speed but CBT instructers have to move on so if you know someone with a bike who would teach you in your own time the basics off road you could then just concentrate on the road craft ?

did you do any road riding today or was it all round cones etc?