Out of the frying pan..

GazW

Im a chef, I work in a venue surrounded by office complexes, this afternoon I had a table of 12 order food and a table of 2 seconds afterwards, I managed to get all 14 meals out within 17 minutes (I work alone during dinnertime service) which is fast, the table of 2 kicked off saying that they only get 30 minutes dinner break and the food had taken too long so therefor they wanted a refund. I'm not like a Yates, we work with raw chicken and ingredients as opposed to processed food that's microwaved and on your table before you are. (don't eat Yates burgers.. They are microwaved) someone fitting my description may have left the kitchen, and told them something along the lines of, this is a proper restaurant, that chicken has been cooked from raw, in future if you wanna pay, eat, and leave within 20 minutes then McDonalds is 5 minutes down the road.. Apparently they requested my head office details and are going to lodge a formal complaint against me... So now, we play the waiting game.

People like that make my blood boil, nowhere on the menu does it say that we can cater round ten spare minutes you may have.

Non too bothered anyway, I doubt I'll get sacked, and won't struggle to find work if I do, but have been kitchen manager for 4 months so I would prefer to get a year behind me and move on to a bigger kitchen. Only time will tell

Things like this make my blood boil some people really do piss me off they think because they are paying they expect you to do cart wheels for them :roll:

If I went out for a meal I would expect it in 20 - 30 mins ish no sooner if it was sooner I would start thinking how long has it been sat there already cooked etc!

This is my problem I could never work in the service industry again, I would end up telling them to foxtrot Oscar!

I'm lucky where I work the customer is always wrong!