CB500 - chains lost tension....

KD79

Hi all,

Noticed the cb500 (o3 plate 17.5K on clock) was making a funny noise today from the chain area and on further inspection I have noticed that the chain has become slack to the point the underside of the chain is rubbing on the centre stand when raised :shock: . Now I am a complete novice when it comes to motorbikes and am going to be unable this myself as I lack the tools and know how.

Does any one know what could have caused this and how to rectify the problem and would it be safe to ride to a local bike mechanic???

Thanks all.

a chain stretches and gets longer as it wears!! your supposed to check your chain tension often!

it will need adjusting if your lucky you will get away with it but it could be time for a new chain and also learn how to do simple maintenance checks!

if your chain is in need of replacement the amount its going to cost you could have bought you a lot of basic tools to adjust and maintain your bike and make things like your chain last a lot longer!

if you dont know how or have the tools you are best off visiting a mechanic asap to get it check and take it easy!

Does any one know what could have caused this and how to rectify the problem and would it be safe to ride to a local bike mechanic???

Thanks all.

Chains "stretch" over time as they wear. It shoudl be a routine task to check tension and adjust. For a better idea of how to do this, try Google "How to adjust motorcycle chain". There are literally dozens of Youtube videos that show you step by step how to.

If your chain is so loose as to be rubbing on the stand, I'd think it's too loose to ride it on the road. If it comes off while you're moving it can lock the back wheel, causing danger to yourself and other road users.

Learn how to do it yourself. It'll save you a fortune in repair bills quite quickly.

Hi all,