Warranty

Cole Pfeiffer

Well having purchased an Er6f about 2 months ago, unfortunately it is currently sounding awful. As mentioned on the site previously I am completely new to biking and was hoping the chain just needed to be tightened. When reversing the bike the chain clunks and seems to be very slack in places, whilst overly tight in others. When riding, the chain noise is very loud.

I have had a few opinions from people and it seems that the chain and sprockets need changing. The bike is a 2012 model and came with a 3 month warranty. Should this be covered by the it?

Chain and sprockets are normally classed as wear and tear items so not covered under warranty but if you have not done many miles on it since buying it you might get the dealer to do a deal on changing it

Well with it being a first bike, it has been hard to not jump on it at every opportunity! So yes, it's done a few miles in the short time that I have had it. I had a feeling that it wouldn't be covered, but will give it a go. What is the approx. cost of having it fixed?

As above, T&C's of the warranty should be able to answer that question.

Personally I wouldn't jump to the automatic assumption that it needs replacing all depends on how many miles have been covered while fitted and how well it's been looked after, if you are going to replace the chain from what I understand heavy duty chains have a longer life and need adjusting less often.

Phone the shop up and ask them if they've got five minutes to take a look and adjust your chain correctly, purchase some chain lube and cleaner while your their and then apply when at home (many rookie mistakes to be had in this process, believe me).