Zx7r white smoke and cutting out

Guest Legatron

hiya, sorry , this is a potential re port as its covered in my projects thread but could do with as much help as possible.

I ve started the bike for the first time a week or so and somethings not right. It struggles to start even on full choke and once it has started any touch of the throttle causes it to stall.

Once it has warmed up and settled a little it idles ok but if i rev it at all i get whitish smoke with the odd backfire. with white smoke i'm concerned about head gasket but the coolant looks as it should.

could it be carbs need sorting? the smoke isn't constant it like it gets to a certain level and chucks out a gob full of it.

i am concerned...help!

p.s. the bike has recently had oil and filter change, plugs but not a fuel filter. the tank was drained when i bought the bike. I have touched the carbs yet as i have NO experience with them at all. ( dark art as far as im concerned!)

posted on tother thread :thumb:

but you have answered a few questions

get them carbs apart they are piece of piss to do :)

you NEED good fitting screwdrivers though for the float bowls or even better screwdriver bits for a ratchet so you can get pressure on them

white smoke I believe is water vapor. Two things with this:

One - all vehicle get white smoke on start up in the cold weather. Its condensation etc evaporating as everything warms up.

Two - after a few minutes it should stop. If it doesn't, have a close look at the exhaust (from the side). There should be an inch or so gap between the exhaust and smoke. This is infact water droplets being created in the air behind the exhaust and is not coming from the exhaust itself.

Black smoke is smoke rather than vapor. It can be cause by a bad air/fuel mixture

Blue smoke is oil being burned - then you are in for a headache.

My bandit use to throw out a load of white smoke when I revved it shortly after I started it up.