driving lessons

mealexme

I'm venturing over to the dark side of motoring and looking at getting some car driving lessons. I've been putting it off for the past couple of years, and was hoping to put it off until I move out of my parents house (withing the next 2-3 years hopefully), but the reality is, I want to stop riding the CBR through the winter, especially through the salt on the roads (don't get me wrong, I won't be a fair weather rider) and the more NCB I have when I move out, the less money I will have to spend on insurance.

Anyway, I'm being bought them for me for a birthday present and want to know if anyone has gone from riding a motorcycle to driving a car? I've been riding for over 5 years and to be honest I have a few bad habits, but I know what they and they shouldn't be an issue when driving a car.

How long should I expect it to take before I can take my test? I believe the average is 30 hours, but what percentage of that is getting used to the car and what percent is getting used to road signs/traffic etc?

Obviously I can already deal with traffic, and in theory know how to drive a car (although I've never done it before, I know where all the buttons/stalks/pedals are and what they do) so has anyone had experience from riding a bike first, to doing their car lessons, and how long it would take?

not me specifically, but Chira has only ever ridden, and recently did a days karting... says it was difficult getting used to the right foot accelerating, as shes used to it being for braking :shock:

im guessing that went wrong a few times :lol: :lol:

A mate of mine went from riding to driving, he had 8 hours of lessons and passed straight away. My misses is learning to drive and she's had 20 hours and is ready for her test and she's never been on the road before.