Any actual waterproof gloves out there?

Hi Guys,

I have been riding for a few years, all-year rider. Gone through torrential rain, freezing temps, stupidly strong winds, ice, snow, and maybe a few days of some actual summer here in britain.

I have had 3 sets of gloves, all "Waterproof".

First set was a cheap £20 set.

2nd was about the same.

Then I got sick of them as they were not waterproofing at all after anything more than a light drizzle.

So I eventually thought F*** this, I'm going to spend some decent money on a good set.

Found a pair that cost £100! (Wolf Titanium WaterProof Outlast Gloves)

Absolutely loved them, I even tested them out when they were new, ran a sink of water, put on the gloves and put my hand underwater and left it there for a few minutes. Dry as a bone inside!

However, maybe a month or so later, after a few long soaks in some stupidly heavy rain, and the gloves lost their waterproof ability.

Had them for a good 8 months now, and they seem to get completely soaked in any type of rain!

Outlast technology developed for NASA? Does absolutely nothing.

Hipora breathable waterproof membrane? temporarily worked, but not made to last!

To be honest, I don't think I will spend £100 on a set of gloves ever again unless there is some serious proof they are worth it.

I'm just looking for a pair of gloves that actually do the job they are supposed to, along with offering great protection, and thermal regulation. Looks are not so important but a set that looks nice is always something I look for.

Can anyone offer some advice? Is there an actual good solution I can spray these current gloves with to waterproof them?

Or is there a set of gloves anyone can recommend?

Apologies for the cynicism, I'm sure there are many of us in the same boat :(

Thanks Again.

If they get grubby which they will from all year round stuff - you really should give them a wash and re-proof them now and again to maintain the waterproofiness.