Suspension Servicing

Fish

OK, so on this side of servicing I'm a complete novice. I know what the manual tells me, but with my being a 2017 and unknown service history other than dealer stamps in a booklet, would it be worth having someone way more knowledgable than myself checking it over and maybe giving the fronts at least an oil change? 

41 minutes ago, Fish said:

OK, so on this side of servicing I'm a complete novice. I know what the manual tells me, but with my being a 2017 and unknown service history other than dealer stamps in a booklet, would it be worth having someone way more knowledgable than myself checking it over and maybe giving the fronts at least an oil change? 

It's quite doable DIY. I did it first time earlier this year on an sv650. I did oil  bushes and seals. The oil that came out was minging.  I'd assume with unknown service history it probably hasn't been done.

9 hours ago, Breezin said:

Tell us more...

I've used oil extraction pumps for years for car oil changes. I change the oil every 5-6k so it makes it quick, simple and clean.

For bike forks you only need a small one. Take the top nuts off, drop the extraction tube down as far as it will go, pump the handle a few times and the oil is drained out of the forks.

Purists might moan you don't get every drop out but since it's such a quick and simple way to drain the fork oil you can do it more frequently.

To refill use a measuring probe with a syringe. It allows you to experiment with how you prefer the suspension to feel. The manufacturer's recommendation is a base line to play with.

Doing it this way you can also play around with different oils and viscosities to see what works for you without needing to dismantle everything. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Oil change on forks used to be easy as there was a drain screw in the bottom of the forks (80's bikes).