Getting back on a bike after a 'bit of a break'

bjr55

I passed my motorbike test in the late 1970s, meaning I had a full A licence, from the outset.  I rode a Honda CG 125 for three years, and nothing since. 

For the last 10 years, I have been wanting to get a bike, and now I am about to.  First, I have booked a one-day, one-to-one, "return to biking" course.  The aim is to make me aware of how biking has changed in the last 44 years, refresh what basic skills I have, impart some new skills and give me an honest appraisal as to whether I am fit to get on a bike and venture out on the roads. 

I have held off buying a bike, as the course will provide me with a Honda CB500 for the day.  As part of my preparation, I have been cycling for several months, reminding myself of how vulnerable one can feel on two wheels on our roads.  I am very much looking forward to being back on a motorbike, and the web has provided me with a lot of information and advice.

• Like 3

Thank you for the comment and the welcome. I am looking forward to being part of a motorcycling community.

In theory, I could have gone from a Honda CG125, straight to a Honda CBR1000RR-R Fireblade SP, in a single step. That would probably have resulted in me killing myself in the first 48 hours, or worse, killing somebody else.  If the training course goes well, I am looking to buy something in the A2 bracket and see how it goes.

Edited by bjr55

Hi

same as nick said.

things have moved on for both bikes and yourself, nothing wrong with a mid capacity bike..realistically more than enough for most people especially on the road.

ive been up and down cap bikes over the years (still so now) and i was still more than happy enough with even a 46hp 500cc.

Hi and welcome, the most forgiving bikes I've ridden are enduro's or scramblers, mind you I've no room to talk. I jumped on a blackbird after a few years lay-off.

1 hour ago, Vic101 said:

the most forgiving bikes I've ridden are enduro's or scramblers