Motorcycle essential accessories

Guest MrSmith

Hi guys!

I'm pretty new to biking, passed my direct access early last month, and have recently got myself a new CBR500R. Anyway, my birthday is coming up and I'm just asking for some gift cards to use at the local BikersWorld. I want to get some stuff for my bike, and am just wondering what people recommend? I'm thinking along the lines of a stand maybe, to make lubing the chain alittle easier and things like that.

So what kind of things are the basic 'can't do without' kit I should be investing in? Thanks folks

My essentials that I cannot imagine being without are

1 - mirror extenders, loads about, some universal some bike specific. I hated the limited view and having to move my head to see mirrors whilst I was learning. Extenders mean I get a much better view and can see the mirrors easily.

2 - seat pad. I have a gel one from DanMedicaSouth and a bean bag from Bumbags4bikers, both do equally well.

3 - upgraded body armour. Ditch any foam stuff and replace with Forcefield, Knox or similar.

4 - side stand foot. Stop the side stand from sinking into softer ground by fitting a foot to increase the surface area. Usually bike specific, or a cheap option is a puck you place under the stand before you get off (easier said than done)

5 - having both winter and summer gloves, I have yet to find a universal glove for all conditions.

6 - Grip Puppies, universal foam grips that reduce vibration to the hands and for me make the grip more comfortable by increasing the circumference.

7 - a good stout cable lock for parking up in town. I figure if you can lock your bike to something criminals will go after bikes with nothing of disc locks where they can still lift the bike into a van. I use the Oxford Barrier lock.