Why remove engine number from casing?

julianl

I have half a CG125 engine (one casing missing) that I was given with a bike I bought recently. The bike is a Honda XR125L (which uses the CG125 engine) but this bike has a Chinese CG125 clone. Previous seller wanted to put a Honda engine back in the bike and bought a replacement engine, but used the casing off it on his commuter CG. He lost interest in the project and put it all on eBay after a couple of years sat in his shed, where I bought it. I too would like to put a Honda engine back in the bike, nothing against Lifan.

So I've been looking at lots of CG125 engine casings on eBay. The vast majority I've seen have had their engine number removed. Why do this? I can't think of a legitimate reason to do this, but I'm still fairly new to bikes. Is there a good reason? All I can think of is to hide the identity of the engine, and the first reason to do that which comes to mind, is because the engine is stolen. Even if there was a legal reason to do this, I don't see how you could tell the DVLA that the replacement engine you've fitted to the bike doesn't have a serial number. I don't intend to neglect to tell the DVLA about an engine swap, like the owner that fitted the Chinese engine did (my V5C says the bike has a Honda JC30E engine fitted). I don't know what the sellers think people would do with an engine with no serial number if it can't legally be used on the road. :scratch: