Gear changing at junctions

parkmoy

OK, I'm a very newbie rider. In a car I can brake approaching a junction, hold the clutch in, and, if it's a Give Way/roundabout etc. select the appropriate gear for my speed and carry on. Alternatively brake to a stop and select first and carry on.

What's the best way of doing these on a bike?

In my limited experience, what you do will probably differ depending on what bike you ride.

I'm on a 125 & I tend to go down through the gears as I'm slowing down & hold back from vehicle in front so I can gauge which gear I'll need to pull away. Inevitably on the 125 that's 1st gear!! :roll: :lol:

I tend to approach in 1st gear, bike is a bit unsettled at low revs in 2nd plus being in 1st means I have power to pull away if traffic starts moving. Also get nice engine braking ('tis a 600). I wouldn't coast up to the junction with clutch held as the bike is more stable with drive on the back wheel, the same applies to the car but you're not balancing on it at the time so get away with it :D

same as in a car, you will get used to it in time, although saying that, for the past week i have found myself changing down too fast and locking the back wheel. Its always best to be in a higher gear that needed so it doesnt lock up. Although this will mean you dont have as much power setting off, but you can always change down one or two when stetting off again (i still do that on rare occasion)

same as in a car, you will get used to it in time, although saying that, for the past week i have found myself changing down too fast and locking the back wheel. Its always best to be in a higher gear that needed so it doesnt lock up. Although this will mean you dont have as much power setting off, but you can always change down one or two when stetting off again (i still do that on rare occasion)