New to all this...

hardleydavidson

Hi,

I recently started riding and being very naive, bought myself a second hand chinese 50cc chopper style moped. Now a lot of people say very derogatory things about these chinese bikes, putting them down and saying how rubbish they are. Personally I think they are wrong, these things are far worse than anyone makes out.

With a little bit of work I managed to get it through it's MOT but since then the exhaust manifold bolt has fallen out, it won't go up hill at all, there's only about a quarter throttle, the ignition cuts out randomly and I've had to push it home twice. Not to mention the previous owner wiring the positive to the earth which produced some comical lighting issues. Last night it felt like I was pushing a squeeky wheelie bin full of tin cans. The problem I now have is that I'm not flush when it comes to cash so I'm stuck with it and I'm determined to get this thing up to scratch. I am toying with the idea of slowly replacing parts with more reliable ones from a different manufacturer.

When it does go, which is rare at the moment, I'm really enjoying riding.

I do have one question if anyone knows the answer, if there is little to no back pressure on a 4 stroke will that affect power in higher gears or up hill?

Yep, you need a bit of back pressure or you will have a drop off in power.

To say all Chinese bikes are shit is a little short sighted, I spent a few months on Asia last year and there are loads of them - pretty much all kept going with back street garages with few quality tools!

Spend a bit of time going over your bike and I'm sure you'll be able to nurse it back to health. :-)

Cheers,

Fro

I'm confused by the need for back pressure on a 4 stroke......until the need to quiet them down all racing 4 strokes ran straight through pipes but the impostant bit was for them to be smooth curved and the same length.

It was two strokes that had to have back pressure in order for the exchange porting to work...