MyHermes cock up

Adam

So I sold my Arrow exhaust system on eBay for £250 including postage and shipped it with MyHermes, now I've never used them before but had only heard good things, the exhaust I bought came via them and was with me within a few days however..

I shipped my exhaust on Wednesday the 12th all was good I checked the tracking number and it said it had been picked up, checked it the next day and it said it was at the distribution centre, so I left it at that, I then received an email from my buyer asking if I could chase it up as it hadn't been updated on the tracking info since the 13th so I had a look and he was right. Went onto the website and found something called live chat and spoke to someone on there, told them what my problem was and the response I got was along the lines of I can't do that I'll have to pass it on to the investigations team and they'll look into it, I thought okay no problem except it takes 24-48 hours to get a reply (48 in my case) how ridiculous is that!!

Well I got a reply today and they say they can't find it and I need to fill out a lost parcel claim form, this takes up to two weeks to get a reply. Now I'm in an awkward situation because I can't really afford to refund my buyer as I've used some of the money for other things and it also says in the email if you do refund the buyer and the parcel turns up MyHermes will dismiss the claim and I'll end up out of pocket.

Really annoyed by all this because not only have they made me look like a complete idiot they've managed to lose an entire exhaust system and it wasn't small!

Luckily I paid extra to ensure the parcel was covered for up to £250 otherwise I'd be screwed!!!!

It soumds unfortunate mate but you have done all expected of youand insured it so leave them to investigate and if they dont find it claim and the buyer will be reinbursed that way. Keep in constant comms with the buyer and be as helpful as you can.