Wiring in a USB port

Lateralus

I've bought one of these USB charging ports:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00QTA1G7Q/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apap_zQLEe3wtNOCog

It says it should just be wired straight to the battery, but I'm a complete novice with electrics and am a little nervous about causing myself an issue.

End of the cables look like this - what should I connect them to? IMG_20170801_214825.thumb.jpg.f82dbd600824610f01a29efedc55e27f.jpg

I'd wire it via a relay connected to the ignition circuit........ :wink:

See, I was wondering whether there was a way to ensure its turned off other than just the magnetic switch in the cover. How do you actually go about that?

Black to negative.. red to positive. on the battery.. its not complicated.. and theres no reason to make it so.

I'd like this to be the answer, but just wanted to check if there's a “better” option!

I'd wire it via a relay connected to the ignition circuit........ :wink:

there you go.. how to make it complicated when you're a complete novice with electrics. and nervous about causing an issue. :lol:

easy.

Just saying that's what I'd do.......that way it'll only burst into flames when you turn the ignition on....... :wink:

Seriously though.....These things draw a small amount of current all the time = flat battery if you don't use the bike for a while. Also, I wouldn't wire anything directly to the battery without a fuse in line...... :shock:

if you want to be sure its off then go the relay route its only a couple of extra wires and nothing hard or complicated

The hardest part is finding a switched live and a location for the relay

if you are not bothered about the risk of draining the battery then go straight to the battery

replace dual fans with USB socket :D

2wganbc.jpg

if you want to be sure its off then go the relay route its only a couple of extra wires and nothing hard or complicated

if you are not bothered about the risk of draining the battery then go straight to the battery

2wganbc.jpg