Engine just.. stopped?

softwarez

Okay, im not good with bike engines at all..

I was riding along.. doing 60 and then suddenly my bike just stopped.. lost all power.. I had to try to control the stop, skidding down the road (luckily i controlled it well) Quite scary since it was my second time on a motorbike...

The bike is a Cagiva Planet 125.

It is sparking fine i know that much.. when i try to start it i hear a little 'poof' noise come from the exhaust.. at one point it even backfired (trying to start it) but it just wont have any of it..

I have taken the bottom fairing off etc etc.. and I see about 6 tubes all off.. (I dont know if this many breathers are needed etc..)

The tubes i can think off that go nowhere come from..

1. Radiator bottle

2. Petrol tank (the very left tube) (Looking at the bike form the front, i.e. leaning over handle bars to see) I cant explain what the other tubes come form as i dont know what they are called :(... However, the piston seems fine.. but a little dry? - There is enough petrol and 2 stroke.

Any advice? Thanks..

Well, like i said, im not bike mechanic :P But some one who knows a very 'little' just looked down the hole where the spark plug would be (we removed it) had a look at it turning over.. saying it seemed ok?

Not sure about any of it though.. as i know nothing =(

The biggest worry is.. how can i find the 'real' problem? what to do? costs? Annoying as i have only owned it for 2 days.. first day riding it, it was fine.. argh..

Thanks for the reply..

Edit: I just had a look myself.. I see something moving up and down (when spar plug is taken out) lol! Also, it is all dry... and the spark plug end looks all burnt? kinda of like charcoal... (Plug was put it new yesterday)

I think you need to take it to a shop and let them have a look. I know its not what you want to hear, but I've a sneaky feeling it could be serious :(

Incidently, how many miles has it done?

7k miles