Community Tool Kit builder

Hi guys.

Heads up I am an absolute newbie to adventure biking and will be heading out to Europe for two weeks as a little trip. Hence in need of advice

I was thinking that we could all compile some of the stuff we carry in our tool bags for long trips. Since I am fairly oblivious but keen to learn I have the following things in my tool kit. It obviously needs some work so any advice of what you guys carry so the newbies on the forum like me can get an idea of what is necessary and what isn't. 

1. Leatherman wave + extra screwdriver + alankey bits

2. bacon strips for plugging tires (Works on mountain bikes but on motorbikes?)

3. Duct tape

4. WD40

4. Samurai sword (obviously)

I know this list obviously needs more stuff so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

• Like 1

35 minutes ago, Ocean said:

And also of course a pump, I am assuming a normal push-bike pump won't suffice, any tips for that would also be great.

I carry one of those cheap and cheerful electric inflators. Loads of them on Amazon. Mine works and I can vouch for it, but I am saving up for a slightly smaller, slightly lighter version.

Bacon strips do work, but  I regard them as temporary repairs. Other people don't. Your choice.

Well, yes, a Samurai sword would be rather obvious I would imagine.  In a perfect world and assuming you're right handed, swapping your handlebar controls from left to right and carrying a large calibre pistol would be handier.

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

I have bacon strips in my kit, but also have tyre repair screws too, they're a tapered screw covered in glue type stuff..

These blighters.... 

Tire Repair Screw in Rubber Plug Nail Car Tyre Puncture Repair Kit Off-Road Tire | eBay

Edited by Simon Davey
Smelling corrections.

Remember, you only need the tools that fit your bike.

Mine are mostly 4,5,6mm Alen bolts, 10mm spanner.

Philips screwdriver PH2 & PH1

Adjustable wrench