other road user issues with bikes ( NOT bikers themselves)

chrishayward

As a car driver I feel I must report a near miss I had with with a motor bike recently. It was entirely my fault, but I do have issues with some modern bike styles and designs. I was pulling out onto a straight 60mph country road, in the dark, and in the distance were two small headlights. I know the road ( complacency) and judged the "car" to be 500 yards or so away. It transpired it wasnt a car at all bur a modern style dual headlight bike doing a decent speed and only 75 yards or so away. Luckily no accident but I bet the biker shat themselves as i did when I realised what I had done. This was entirely my fault, but I would implore all you bikers to urge manufacturers to only fit one headlight to bikes as other road users cannot judge what is coming at them, its proximity or its speed in the dark. Dual headlights on bikes look like distant cars to other users in the dark. IMO this is an accident waiting to happen and the other road user will ( rightly) be at fault, just as I was. Just dont want anyone getting hurt as it wont end well at 60mph.

• Like 3

FortNine mentions this in one of his videos as a hazardous situation. The snag for bikers with that style of headlights is that on an unlit rural road you need full beam and that is precisely when both lights are on in this format.

A valid point and I also should say many car manufacturers have trend of designing headlights, stop,tail and turn lights where you cannot distinguish the turn signal, particularly if the sun catches them at the wrong angle.

And whoever conceived daylight running lights wants sacking .

• Like 3

38 minutes ago, Bianco2564 said:

A valid point and I also should say many car manufacturers have trend of designing headlights, stop,tail and turn lights where you cannot distinguish the turn signal, particularly if the sun catches them at the wrong angle.

And whoever conceived daylight running lights wants sacking .