My Honda CB100N project - “Rusty”

Hi all, I’m a newbie to the forum and to bike renovations, but thought I’d share my project and updates as I go. Any tips along the way would be useful.

So, this model was my first bike back in the mid 80s and when I saw a restoration project on eBay for next to nothing, I thought it was time I tried to get involved. Admittedly, I’d had a couple of beers and the fact that the project bike had no engine didn’t seem to matter at the time… I bought ‘Rusty’ for £127 and started a complete strip down; by individual nut, bolt, clip, bracket and wire.  The most I had ever done back in the day was change the fork seals (no mean feat in itself) so this was a voyage of discovery. Careful bagging and labelling of each part has helped keep things ordered, but the next phase is the cleaning, de-rusting and replacement of missing parts before the rebuild can begin.

Just a selection of pictures from the strip down, but you get the idea.

IMG_6918.jpeg

IMG_6922.jpeg

IMG_6948.jpeg

IMG_6989.jpeg

IMG_7025.jpeg

IMG_7033.jpeg

IMG_7044.jpeg

IMG_6911.jpeg

Edited by GojuRyu5

Strip down complete, and at least a thousand YouTube videos later, I experimented with different ways to manage rust removal. Small parts seemed OK with a wire brush, elbow grease - a soaking in white vinegar seemed to help in advance.  But that wasn’t feasible for other, bigger parts. I read about the electrolysis method and set about putting something together. After a little trial an error to find the right materials for the sacrificial anode(s) and crocodile clips to manage connections, I have to say I have been impressed with the results.