Looking to survey tourers to improve route planning

sky

Hi! 👋 

I am currently looking to talk to some tourers that would be up for answering a few questions on route planning. I am a student studying user experience and as a frequent tourer myself I am trying to research better ways to tour on your motorbike (mainly to do with route planning and apps).  It should take only 15 minutes. If you are interested please let me know. If you don't have the time to chat please would you mention the apps that you like using when you are touring, all of it is helpful. 

Thank you 

I don't use apps. if by that you mean touring specific apps mostly aimed at mobile phone users. I use paper maps, Michelin guides and for laying out the routes Garmin basecamp. which I find very simple to use, though most people seem to think its too complicated. I transfer the gpx to the SD card in my zumo xt and off I go.

I also tend to use other peoples routes if they look interesting (and avoid major cities) there are loads of sites on the internet full of routes, often with the option of viewing them as an overlay on a proper map... an obvious example for the UK being BBR. though as that's now worldwide it can be useful for timing the best roads together for a longer day out.

Though for my purposes the best sites are German. Kurviger. Kurvenkonig etc.

But at the end of the day you can't beat paper maps.. either in hand or online. they offer the best overview so you can see worthwhile points of interest that might mean a slight diversion for the route being planned at that moment.

I still use maps from ADAC in Germany as they do offer a very easy way to plan a route and have a great emphasis on great routes, with good tarmac and great views... very easy to transfer too. eg.

Screenshot 2022-11-14 at 19.02.04.png

Edited by Gerontious
  • Like 1

I use Myroute App